New Advent
 Home   Encyclopedia   Summa   Fathers   Bible   Library 
 A  B  C  D  E  F  G  H  I  J  K  L  M  N  O  P  Q  R  S  T  U  V  W  X  Y  Z 
New Advent

Home > Catholic Encyclopedia > L > Lyrba


Please help support the mission of New Advent and get the full contents of this website as an instant download. Includes the Catholic Encyclopedia, Church Fathers, Summa, Bible and more — all for only $19.99...

A titular see of Pamphylia Prima, known by its coins and the mention made of it by Dionysius, Perieg. 858, Ptolemy, V, 5, S, and Hierocles. Its exact situation is not known, nor its history; it may be the modern small town of Seidi Shehir, in the vilayet of Konia. The "Notitiae episcopatuum" mentions Lyrba as an episcopal see, suffragan of Side, up to the twelfth and thirteenth centuries. Two of its bishops are known: Caius, who attend the Council of Constantinople, 381, and Taurianus at Ephesus, 431 (Le Quien, "Oriens christianus", I, 1009); Zeuxius was not Bishop of Lyrba, as Le Quien states, but of Syedra.

The ruins are south-east of Kiesme, vilayet of Koniah; there have been found some inscriptions, tombs, and the remains of a Byzantine church.


RADET in Revue des etudes anciennes, XII (Bordeaux, 1910), 365-72.

About this page

APA citation. Pétridès, S. (1910). Lyrba. In The Catholic Encyclopedia. New York: Robert Appleton Company.

MLA citation. Pétridès, Sophrone. "Lyrba." The Catholic Encyclopedia. Vol. 9. New York: Robert Appleton Company, 1910. <>.

Transcription. This article was transcribed for New Advent by Thomas M. Barrett. Dedicated to the Christians of Pamphylia Prima.

Ecclesiastical approbation. Nihil Obstat. October 1, 1910. Remy Lafort, Censor. Imprimatur. +John M. Farley, Archbishop of New York.

Contact information. The editor of New Advent is Kevin Knight. My email address is webmaster at Regrettably, I can't reply to every letter, but I greatly appreciate your feedback — especially notifications about typographical errors and inappropriate ads.

Copyright © 2021 by New Advent LLC. Dedicated to the Immaculate Heart of Mary.